Virginia Peninsulas
Public Service Authority


Board of Directors

VPPSA is governed by a Board of Directors made up of one representative from each member city and county and appointed by the City Council or the County Board of Supervisors.  The governing body of each member may also appoint an alternate who will represent the member jurisdiction in the absence of the appointed Board member.

The Board of Directors for FY 18 is as follows:

Matthew L. Walker, Middlesex County, County Administrator

Vice Chair
Jason Mitchell, City of Hampton, Public Works Operations Manager

Timothy L. Wilson, Essex County, County Administrator

Edwin E. Smith, Jr., (Alternate)

Hugh McDonough, Recycling Manager (Alternate)

James City:
Brian J. Hill,  County Administrator
Grace Boone, General Services Manager (Alternate)

King & Queen:
Thomas J. Swartzwelder, County Administrator
No Alternate

King William:
Mark Reeter, County Administrator
Victoria Rowsey, Executive Assistant-Operations (Alternate)

Melinda Conner, County Administrator
John Shaw, Director of Planning and Zoning (Alternate)


Tom Jones, Director of Public Works
J. Randall Wheeler, City Manager (Alternate)

Daniel G. Clayton, Director of Public Works
Tammy Rojek, Administrative Assistant (Alternate)

Brian Woodward, Deputy Director of Public Works
Laurie Halperin, Waste Services Manager (Alternate)